Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation: Chicago/Turabian Style

MLA, APA, AMA, Chicago

What is "Chicago/Turabian Style"?

Research "style" is very simply the set of instructions and format that a particular discipline uses when writing papers and citing resources.  Different areas of study do things a little bit differently.  Chicago Style is used primarily in history, as well as some humanities and social sciences.  The name comes from the University of Chicago Press.  Turabian Style is the student version and is shorter.

Additional Resources

Chicago Manual of Style - 17th edition

Author-Date System

In-Text Citations - AUTHOR-DATE SYSTEM

You cite the author(s), the year, and the page numbers.

In Democracy and Other Neoliberal Fantasies, Jodi Dean (2009) argues that "imagining a rhizome might be nice, but rhizomes don't describe the underlying structure of real networks" (30).

Michael Hardt and Antonio Negri (2009), on the other hand, argue that the Internet is an exemplar of the rhizome (299).

Enlightenment thinkers, such as Kant, believed in the "universal, eternal, and... immutable qualities of all humanity" (Harvey 1990, 12).

More examples

References page - AUTHOR-DATE SYSTEM

Electronic resources:

Periodicals from the library's online databases:
Scholarly journals:
Author(s). Year. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical volume, no. issue: pages. doi or url.

Lovell, W. George, and Christopher H. Lutz. 1994. "Conquest and Population: Maya Demography in Historical Perspective." Latin American Research Review 29, no. 2: 133+. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A15502373/AONE?u=kctcsmctc&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=c441bf7d.

Magazines:
Author(s). Year. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year. doi or url.

Nuwer, Rachel. 2019. “The Elephant in the Garden.” New Scientist, Oct. 19, 2019. https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Madisonville?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=139160953

Newspapers:
Author(s). Year. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year. url.

Trevisan, Matthew. 2007. "Facebook's White Knight Tackles Cyberbullies." The Globe and Mail, Jul 24, 2007. https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Madisonville?url=https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/facebooks-white-knight-tackles-cyberbullies/docview/383423909/se-2?accountid=12223.

Websites:

Author(s). Year. "Webpage." Website. Last modified Month Day, Year. url.

Bouman, Katie. 2017. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.example.com/policies/privacy/.

More examples


Print resources:

Books
Last name, First name. Year. Title of Book. City: Publisher.

Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. 2015. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger life. New York: Simon & Schuster.

More examples

 

Periodicals:
Scholarly journals:
Author(s). Year. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical volume, no. issue: pages.

Satterfield, Susan. 2016. “Livy and the Pax Deum.” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (April): 165–76.

Magazines:
Author(s). Year. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year. 

Mead, Rebecca. 2017. “The Prophet of Dystopia.” New Yorker, April 17, 2017.

Newspapers:
Author(s). Year. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year. 

Pegoraro, Rob. 2007. “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple.” Washington Post, July 5, 2007. 

More examples


Author-Date format

Notes-Bibliography (NB) System

In-Text Citations - NOTES-BIBLIOGRAPHY (NB) SYSTEM

You use superscripts (example: ¹) in the body of your paper and include footnotes at the bottom of each page with the bibliographic information. (See next box for examples of bibliographic information included in the footnotes, as well as in the Bibliography at the end of your paper.)

In Democracy and Other Neoliberal Fantasies, Jodi Dean (2009) argues that "imagining a rhizome might be nice, but rhizomes don't describe the underlying structure of real networks." ¹

Michael Hardt and Antonio Negri (2009), on the other hand, argue that the Internet is an exemplar of the rhizome.²

Enlightenment thinkers, such as Kant, believed in the "universal, eternal, and... immutable qualities of all humanity."³

More examples

Bibliography page - NOTES-BIBLIOGRAPY (NB) SYSTEM

Electronic resources:

Periodicals from the library's online databases:
Scholarly journals:

NOTES (this is what goes in your footnote in the body of your paper)
Author(s), "Title of Article," Title of Periodical volume, no. issue (Year): pages, doi or url.

1. George W. Lovell and Christopher H. Lutz. "Conquest and Population: Maya Demography in Historical Perspective." Latin American Research Review 29, no. 2 (1994): 133+, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A15502373/AONE?u=kctcsmctc&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=c441bf7d.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (this is what goes in your bibliography)
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical volume, no. issue (Year): pages. doi or url.

Lovell, George W. and Christopher H. Lutz. "Conquest and Population: Maya Demography in Historical Perspective." Latin American Research Review 29, no. 2 (1994): 133+. 133+, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A15502373/AONE?u=kctcsmctc&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=c441bf7d.

Magazines:

NOTES
Author(s), "Title of Article," Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year, pages, doi or url.

1. Rachel Nuwer, "The Elephant in the Garden," New Scientist, Oct. 19, 2019, 32, https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Madisonville?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=139160953

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year. doi or url.

Nuwer, Rachel. "The Elephant in the Garden." New Scientist, Oct. 19, 2019. https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Madisonville?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=139160953

Newspapers:

NOTES
Author(s), "Title of Article," Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year, pages, doi or url.

1. Matthew Trevisan, "Facebook's White Knight Tackles Cyberbullies," The Globe and Mail, Jul. 24, 2007, A1, https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Madisonville?url=https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/facebooks-white-knight-tackles-cyberbullies/docview/383423909/se-2?accountid=12223.

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year. doi or url.

Trevisan, Matthew. "Facebook's White Knight Tackles Cyberbullies." The Globe and Mail, Jul 24, 2007. https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Madisonville?url=https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/facebooks-white-knight-tackles-cyberbullies/docview/383423909/se-2?accountid=12223.

 

Websites:

NOTES
Author(s), "Webpage," Website, Last modified Month Day, Year, url.

1. Katie Bouman, "Privacy Policy," Privacy & Terms, last modified April 17, 2017, https://www.example.com/policies/privacy/.

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Author(s). "Webpage." Website. Last modified Month Day, Year. url.

Bouman, Katie. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.example.com/policies/privacy/.

More examples


Print resources:

Books
NOTES
First name Last name, Title of Book (City: Publisher, Year), pages.

1. Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Shuster, 2005), 12.

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Last name, First name. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year.

Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger life. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2005.

More examples

 

Periodicals:

Scholarly journals:

NOTES
Author(s), "Title of Article," Title of Periodical volume, no. issue (Year): pages.

1. Susan Satterfield, "Livy and the Pax Deum," Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (2016): 165-76.

BIBLIOGRAPHY (this is what goes in your bibliography)
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical volume, no. issue (Year): pages.

Satterfield, Susan. "Livy and the Pax Deum." Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (2016): 165-76.

Magazines:

NOTES
Author(s), "Title of Article," Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year, pages.

1. Rebecca Mead, "The Prophet of Dystopia," New Yorker, April 17, 2017, 30.

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year.

Mead, Rebecca. 2017. "The Prophet of Dystopia." New Yorker, April 17, 2017.

Newspapers:

NOTES
Author(s), "Title of Article," Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year, pages.

1. Rob Pegoraro, "Apple's iPhone is Sleek, Smart and Simple," Washington Post, July 5, 2007, A1.

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Month Day, Year.

Pegoraro, Rob. "Apple's iPhone is Sleek, Smart and Simple." Washington Post, July 5, 2007.

More examples