WHY IT IS IMPORTANT:
Electronic collections, including subscription databases and databases of owned content, need to be activated in Alma for delivery and discovery in Primo. WHY? Primo retrieves its data from Alma. Access to the resources that are discoverable and delivered in Primo is managed through eRousource activation in Alma.
HOW TO DO THIS:
Instructional video by Ryan Dowell (Southcentral)
Additional Resources:
WHY IT IS IMPORTANT:
Selective collections differ from aggregate collections. Selective collections are collections of materials that the library selects individually from a collection, meaning that you do not activate the entire collection. Activating a selective collection therefore differs from activating an aggregate collection in that the library must activate its own instance of the collection in Alma, and then individual portfolios have to be activated within that collection.
HOW TO DO THIS:
Instructional video by Pam Klinepeter (Ashland)
Additional Resources:
WHY IT IS IMPORTANT:
Certain collections are not available for activation from the Community Zone and will have to be created in Alma using our own provided metadata. Examples include Films on Demand, NetLibrary, Swank, and Overdrive. In these cases, libraries must obtain MARC records from the vendors and import them into a created collection in Alma using an import profile.
HOW TO DO THIS:
Instructional video by Casey Jett (Jefferson)
Additional Resources:
WHY IT IS IMPORTANT:
When libraries obtain new eResources, they will need to be configured to work with Muse Proxy, which will provide us with Source ID URLs. Michael Stapleton handles this process through the System Office.
HOW TO DO THIS:
Instructional video by Pam Klinepeter (Ashland)
Additional Resources:
WHY IT IS IMPORTANT:
Instructors will need to know how to embed links correctly in online course content for library resources, because library resources typically include a proxy prefix, and require users to log on (or be logged into) the content in order to access it.
HOW TO DO THIS:
Instructional video by Pam Klinepeter (Ashland)
Additional Resources:
